Weekend Convention Wrap-Up

Went to Geek Girl Con (GGC) in Seattle over the weekend, where I filmed the Fierce Reads panel. I bought the book Lailah by Nikki Kelly the day before the panel, as I’d seen bloggers gush over it and thought it was the perfect time to pick it up since she was there for signing. Also had my copy of Cinder by Marissa Meyer for signing that I brought with me. The video for that will go up soon, which I guess would count as the start of booktubing…though I can’t promise when the next book related video will go up after that, since there’s a lot of content I want to do.

I played a few games, and got a free copy of Zoo Tycoon for the Xbox 360. EMP (Experience Music Project) had indie games available to play, a sample of games that will be showcased in an upcoming exhibit at the museum. I enjoyed Monument Valley, but it’s too short for the price, I feel. $4 mobile games should have more than 10 levels. Still well done though. Wasn’t interested in Gone Home and didn’t play Broken Age (it was usually being played, and when it wasn’t, I had to move on). I didn’t get a chance to play in the Ubisoft-sponsored console area, though I did see others play Child of Light.

Also saw a really cool card game with a board called Phoenix Covenant (described as MTG meets Chess). Currently it is a Kickstarter. Would definitely buy this game if they succeed! Would be perfect for hubby and I (it’s a 2-player game, though apparently there are to be different modes of play that allow up to 4).

Overall I had a great time as always. This is one of my favorite cons; it’s also the first one I ever attended. It was my third year going, as I was not able to attend the first (regrettably, as  I missed meeting Scott Westerfeld that year).

Stay tuned for reviews; they’ll be written and posted this week. I know I’ve been really busy lately, but soon that will be changing.

About Zi (Bookish Gamer)

Gamer, Reader, Blogger, Youtuber. I love stories of every kind, but tend to stick towards Fantasy and YA as a whole when it comes to books.

Posted on October 13, 2014, in Bookish Chat, Convention Talk and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

