Shut The Box Review

Shut The Box is an indie title from RCMadiax, which I received through #GamesMatter. It’s a short and casual game based on the traditional pub game of the same name. The traditional game will have a single row of tiles 1 through 9 though some go to 12; this digital version has three rows of 1-9. The goal of this version is to get all the tiles off the screen by rolling dice and removing tiles that add up to their sum.

Shut The Box has that addictive quality that will keep you trying to make it. Once you’ve gotten all the tiles except for the last 1-6 on the screen, you drop to one dice roll; all other times you get two dice. This makes it a luck-based game. The interface is colorful and simple. It really is basic, with not much else to it. It does what it’s meant to do; the game just doesn’t add much flair. For the budget price of 99 cents, I’d recommend it if you have a spare buck (actually, it’s currently on sale for 69 cents).

I haven’t yet succeeded in a perfect game, though I have made it down to a single tile. I’ll keep trying, and I’ll enjoy it along the way. The rounds are really quick, and I’ve had fun playing it in between other games. Of course, I’m not sure it’ll be one I keep coming back to over time; but I can say that about my regular playing cards as well. Similar to Solitaire, it’s a good game to pass the time.

Another RCMadiax title I got the pleasure to play was Poker Dice Solitaire Future, which I liked even more. That review will be coming shortly!

About Zi (Bookish Gamer)

Gamer, Reader, Blogger, Youtuber. I love stories of every kind, but tend to stick towards Fantasy and YA as a whole when it comes to books.

Posted on October 15, 2014, in Game Review and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

