Mutant Mudds Deluxe: A Tribute to Classic Platformers

I received Mutant Mudds Deluxe from the #Games Matter event several weeks ago, courtesy of @IndieGamerChick and @RenegadeKidLLC. It’s actually a game I was interested in, but wasn’t sure about. So I was really happy to receive it and experience it!

Mutant Mudds Deluxe bleeds nostalgia; from the moment you boot up the game, it feels like an early 90’s platformer. It’s somewhere between 8 and 16 bits in terms of graphics, giving it that retro look. The music reminds one of 90’s video game soundtracks as well.

When you start a game, you find your character, Max, playing a DS at his grandmother’s house and are interrupted when an asteroid falls and there’s an invasion of Mudds outside. Then you arrive at a screen full of doors, or levels. Of course, only a few are open, with the other doors opening as you play through.

The gameplay is at once familiar if you grew up with games such as Super Mario World (though there’s no jumping on enemies here) and other 8-bit platformers. Max is armed with a gun and a jetpack, which can be upgraded as you collect diamonds. The levels grow in difficulty quickly, becoming brutal. It may take several attempts to clear a level; lucky for me though, the Wii U version of this game has checkpoints. You also have an unlimited amount of lives, which definitely helps. I admit to being poor at platformers, yet I find it satisfying when I finally get through a level. I hate disappearing platforms, but I can appreciate the increased difficulty they bring. This game is very challenging; and the bonus levels hidden within each stage are brutal, as are the ghost levels. I’m not even halfway through. Admittedly, my husband probably enjoys the game more than me.

Mutant Mudds Deluxe is perfect for hardcore platformer fans and I do see the appeal. So if you love a challenge, I would recommend this.

About Zi (Bookish Gamer)

Gamer, Reader, Blogger, Youtuber. I love stories of every kind, but tend to stick towards Fantasy and YA as a whole when it comes to books.

Posted on November 9, 2014, in Game Review and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. I would love to get into it, but the core game just didn’t feel satisfying to me. Something was off with the jumping, movement didn’t flow right, I don’t know I just wasn’t enjoying the flavour it was giving me.

Leave a Reply

