Nintendo Direct January Wrap-Up

Today was an unexpected Nintendo Direct! I crawled out of bed in time to watch it live (was at 6 AM for me). I wasn’t going to watch it live, but just happened to wake up at 5:30 and knew I wasn’t gonna fall back to sleep anyway so it worked out.

Anyway, lots of exciting stuff was mentioned, showed, and given release dates along with a new announcement of the next game in the Fire Emblem series for 3DS. A reminder to myself that I should finish Fire Emblem: Awakening, at least before this one comes out. Of course, I’m in the middle of so many games right now it’s kind of ridiculous, and I’m constantly starting more.

The biggest news was the release date for the New 3DS XL for NA, and confirmation that the regular New 3DS is not coming to NA (so no fun face plates for us). I’m not too bothered since I wanted the New 3DS XL as my upgrade. I know this is upsetting for some though (as well as the name, wish they’d changed it for NA, but it’s not going to stop me from getting one). I look forward to the better 3D; it’s a feature I think I’d use all the time if the new system has really improved it. Also look forward to the processing power for speedier loading and just the size. I have the regular size 3DS, so I can’t wait for the bigger screens. It retails at $199.99, starting with Red and Black colors. There are also two bundles (Majora’s Mask and Monster Hunter 4 Ultimate, both are beautiful). I really want this, but since I can’t afford a bundle right now, and I want more color options (I have a black DS Lite and my current 3DS is red, so I really want a different color), I suppose I’ll be waiting. Hubby wants one too so there’s that as well.

I am excited that Majora’s Mask comes out the same day, February 13th. Hopefully I’ll be able to pick it up, as I’ve never gotten to play it. Though technically I have the Gamecube port, it’s just not accessible right now. And really, I like old games remade with better graphics, I can’t help it. I still want to get Ocarina of Time 3D and Wind Waker HD for that reason.

Kirby and the Rainbow Curse comes out on my birthday, which is February 20th. I love that Claymation look and I’m excited based on that, besides being a longtime fan of Kirby.

Mario Party 10 was announced for March, along with a Super Mario wave of Amiibo. It does allow you to use the Smash figures, but you’ll lose your Smash data if you do. So I guess I’ll have some repeat characters, when I can actually afford amiibo (I chose expensive but fun hobbies…).

NA is getting the Puzzle and Dragons Mario Edition in a double pack (comes with Puzzle and Dragons Z), which reminds me of Puzzle Quest, a game I loved. So I will most likely pick this up at some point.

Pokemon Shuffle is a free to play downloadable 3DS game coming next month, so I’ll probably do that. Haven’t tried the other FTP game (Steel Diver: Sub Wars) because it didn’t interest me. But I could try this one.

Splatoon was announced for May and you can customize your character! I swear, I’ll be spending time enjoying trying on the different outfit options. That makes me seem so girly but hey, clothes are cool in games (in reality, I don’t like shopping for clothes).

Another huge thing is Wii games on the eShop. I already have the Wii games I wanted, but this is still a good thing, especially for fans of Metroid. Super Mario Galaxy 2 is available now on eShop, with the other games announced being Punch Out (Jan. 22) and The Metroid Prime Trilogy (Jan 29). If a Wii game supports classic controller, you can use the Wii U Gamepad instead; also you can play Wii games from the Wii U menu now, which is great.

Xenoblade Chronicles X has a new trailer, still no date besides this year. I’m thinking Fall release, but this will be a day one buy for us.

Mario Vs. Donkey Kong: Tipping Stars has cross-buy, so if you get the Wii U version, you’ll get a code to download the 3DS version and vice versa. It looks like a fun little game, and I haven’t tried any in this series but I really like the idea of cross-buy.

There was a section highlighting some upcoming eShop games. The Xenoblade port for the New 3DS was given a release window for April. Monster Hunter 4 Ultimate has a release date of February 13th, as you might have guessed by the bundle.

My favorite eShop game announcement was Ironfall, as it was a game I heard about from its beginning. It’s very impressive for being made in Assembly language. It looks like a very fun shooter too.

If you want to see what else was talked about or see some gameplay, check out the Nintendo Direct video below!

About Zi (Bookish Gamer)

Gamer, Reader, Blogger, Youtuber. I love stories of every kind, but tend to stick towards Fantasy and YA as a whole when it comes to books.

Posted on January 14, 2015, in Gaming News and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

