The Story of How I Became a Gamer

While I’m pretty obviously female as you can tell by my videos and icons, I certainly have my own story of what made me a gamer. I had a friend in elementary school and he had an NES system. I would go to his house after school pretty regularly. Even though I was a “girl” (this was back in the 90’s after all), he decided one day that I could play with him on the NES after we got bored doing origami. So he introduced me to Duck Hunt and it was pretty much the coolest thing ever back then. I was so amazed by it, just sitting there and having essentially an arcade game to play at his house. Seriously, Duck Hunt blew my little kid mind back then. We spent hours taking turns shooting those darn ducks. It was also the moment I knew that I loved Nintendo (many years later, I now have a Gamecube, N64, DS Lite, 3DS, Wii U and a bunch of Club Nintendo stuff too). Later I was introduced to the Zelda series at my best friend’s house, as she had an SNES with A Link to the Past, though I didn’t properly play a Zelda game myself until Windwaker. Those are my first console memories outside of a Commodore, which I played with my neighbor (Bubble Bobble being the game of choice, along with a game that I cannot remember the name of sadly).

So what made me call myself a gamer? It’s a toss up really. I sunk many many hours in Diablo 1, solidifying my absolute love for RPGs. I spent probably even more time with The Sims. The first Sims game offered so many hilarious situations and me and my friends were addicted. Seriously crazy things happened; I had a house where I made Sims of me and my friends and we all had husbands and lived in the same house. Two of the husbands fell in love with each other, leading to constant fighting between our sims. And the situations would just get weird; it was always a soap opera when I played. And then Halo 1 came, ensuring the fact that I needed games in my life and did not want to go without.

All of these games have given me very positive memories, and I couldn’t be more thankful for that. In a way, like books, these games kept me going in a time of darkness and turmoil. It’s not so much where I played them or what we ate when playing (I’m not really even sure, but M&Ms and potato chips stand out in my mind), or drinking soda (though I’ve cut that habit long ago now) while playing, but just the fact that these games connected me to friends, brought me much laughter, allowed me to be a kid and gave an escape from the bad stuff I was dealing with.

If someone were to create a personal nostalgia crate for me, it would probably include a plush of one of the Bubble Bobble dragons, a zapper gun or USB gamepad, a bag of M&Ms, a soundtrack of classic Nintendo songs, and a classic game or two (looking at you, Kirby Nightmare in Dreamland).

I was recently introduced to Man Crates, a small company which sells one time gift boxes catered to men, wooden crates that include their own crowbar to open them. Among their most popular boxes is the Retro Gaming crate (they also have a Super Retro Gaming crate). I did not receive any compensation for writing this blog post. If you’re interested at all in what the Retro Gamer Crate or Super Retro Gamer Crate include, check them out at http://www.mancrates.com.

About Zi (Bookish Gamer)

Gamer, Reader, Blogger, Youtuber. I love stories of every kind, but tend to stick towards Fantasy and YA as a whole when it comes to books.

Posted on January 20, 2015, in Gaming Discussion and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

