Ten Books I’d Love to Read With My Book Club If I Had One

Top Ten Tuesday is hosted by The Broke and the Bookish, and features weekly top-ten lists.

This list is in all likelihood going to be VERY different from all the other Top Ten Tuesday posts this week. Why is that? Because if I had a book club involving my blog and channel, could you guess what it would be? True to my username, it would be Video Game Books, both those that inspired games (TONS of books fit this criteria), and those that were inspired by games. So we’ll break it up into 5 for each of those criteria. I’d also like to say that I personally have not read any of these books except for one, but being that book club is the topic, I think that’s perfectly fine! So let’s get started.

Books That Inspired Video Games!

The Last Wish (The Witcher, #0.5) Alice's Adventures in Wonderland & Through the Looking-Glass Dune (Dune Chronicles, #1) The Complete Sherlock Holmes The Color of Magic (Discworld, #1)

The Witcher series – That title looks familiar doesn’t it? You probably know, heard or seen info about the games, but did you know the books came first? And the books sound awesome! Written by Polish writer Andrzej Sapkowski, there are 6 novels and two collections of short stories. The link is to the first short story collection, The Last Wish. The first novel is called Blood of Elves.

Alice in Wonderland – What book club is complete without a few classics? This one inspired American McGee’s Alice and the sequel, Madness Returns. These games certainly brought a real sense of darkness to Alice and her Wonderland, being rather twisted and macabre.

Dune – This Frank Herbert classic didn’t just inspire a game, it inspired an entire genre! Its influence is the reason we have modern RTS games, from the Dune II game, to Age of Empires and beyond. The book itself is great for discussion, but the cultural impact should be noted.

Sherlock Holmes – Sherlock has become a staple for many TV shows, movies and of course, video games. It’s always great to go back to the original source and would definitely be fun to discuss! Pretty much any story will work here. Although the games in the Adventures of Sherlock Holmes series are inspired by the character, each one has an original plot (not all games were well received though, in regards to gameplay).

Discworld series– This one is here because I want to read at least some and there were games based in the Discworld universe, and Terry Prachett actually collaborated on several (he’s also a fan of video games). The link is for the first book.

Books Inspired By Video Games!

Ready Player One The Book of Atrus (Myst, #1) Masters of Doom: How Two Guys Created an Empire and Transformed Pop Culture Halo: The Fall of Reach Game Slaves

Ready Player One – It wouldn’t be right to make this list without mentioning this book. Not inspired by any one game, it takes its inspiration from early computer video games of the 1980s as well as other pop culture of that time. For a retro gamer, this book is a nostalgic trip; for others, it’s simply a fun read. This is the only book on this list that I actually did read and really enjoyed, though I did have trouble suspending disbelief with some of the programming aspects.

Myst: The Book of Atrus – I randomly found and bought this book at a thrift store, but it is very highly rated (4.8/5 stars on Amazon, 4/5 on Goodreads). Featuring deep characters and an engrossing world, it seems interesting and compelling enough to discuss.

Masters of Doom: How Two Guys Created an Empire and Transformed Pop Culture – Not really a book inspired by games, but it is a non-fiction about the guys who created Id Software to produce some very successful franchises, Doom and Quake. The book looks fascinating and I don’t really read much non-fiction, but I should.

Halo: The Fall of Reach – I love the Halo series, but my reason for choosing this is because it popularized the video game book, leading to Mass Effect novels, Assassin’s Creed novels and much more. Halo was perfect for a novel series, as it was very much story driven. There are also graphic novels.

Game Slaves – Full on action inside a gaming world! This book sounds like pure fun, one to gush over with friends rather than hold a serious discussion about. It sounds like Wreck It Ralph with a bit of Ready Player One and The Matrix. If that doesn’t sound exciting, then I don’t know what is.

About Zi (Bookish Gamer)

Gamer, Reader, Blogger, Youtuber. I love stories of every kind, but tend to stick towards Fantasy and YA as a whole when it comes to books.

Posted on January 27, 2015, in Top Ten Tuesday and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. I love the Discworld series, and I can see how they could make some interesting games. I was one of the ‘fun read’ types for Ready Player One, but I did enjoy it despite my lack of knowledge.

  2. Awesome picks!! I love the combo of video games and books, definitely my sort of list. I’ve only read Alice and the Halo book. I loved the Halo novels back when the first came out but I sort of fell way behind on them. I have Mass Effect books sitting on my TBR which I can’t wait to dig into. Do you like the game Fable? I read Fable: The Balverine Order years ago and it was pretty awesome.

    • Yes, I really enjoyed Fable! Played the first and second, haven’t tried the third one yet. My husband has the first two Mass Effect books and a Fable book I think. I still need to play Mass Effect, waiting on when I can finally play on an Xbox 360 again. We miss that console. Hopefully it’ll be in the next few months if all goes well.

Leave a Reply

