Top Ten Classic Books I Haven’t Read Yet

Top Ten Tuesday is hosted by The Broke and the Bookish, and features weekly top-ten lists. Today’s topic is books you haven’t read/can’t believe you haven’t read yet from a genre. I went with classics as a whole, because that’s a genre I’d like to read more of. I realize “classic” isn’t really a genre as these books comprise multiple genres, but it is a category and YA isn’t truly a genre either but a category.

So I don’t read a lot of classics, and some of these were standard required reading for many public schools across the US, but were not required reading at the school I went to. So some might be shocked to see these on my list. But alas, these are ten books I probably should have read but didn’t, and plan to get around to eventually.

Animal Farm 1984 Brave New World Pride and Prejudice Sense and Sensibility

The Time Machine The War Of The Worlds The Hound of the Baskervilles (Sherlock Holmes, #5) Journey to the Center of the Earth (Extraordinary Voyages, #3) The Hobbit

Animal Farm – I’ve heard great things about this one and have liked George Orwell from his essays that I’ve read, so I’ll no doubt like this one.

1984 – That other famous George Orwell book. I really need to buy both of these titles or grab them from the library.

Brave New World – I think I’d like this one more than Lord of the Flies, another classic I haven’t read, so that’s why this one is going on the list.

Pride and Prejudice – So many women have read and loved this book. I haven’t read any of Jane Austen’s work so it seems like I should start with this one.

Sense and Sensibility – It seems that I should read this one too as it is another very popular title of hers.

The Time Machine – I had attempted this one once, but I really should go back and read the whole book.

The War of the Worlds – Another H.G Wells title, I want to read this one just for the fact that it scared a whole ton of people during the radio show broadcast of it. That alone intrigues me.

The Hound of the Baskervilles – I’ve wanted to read this one for AGES. Now that I finally own a Sherlock Holmes collection, I really should pick it up.

A Journey to The Center of the Earth – Jules Verne’s titles just seem like pure fun adventure stories. There are other stories I could have chosen, but I think I’d start with this one, unless someone suggests otherwise (which you’re totally free to!).

The Hobbit – I’ve read all three Lord of the Rings books but my confession today is that I have yet to read this one. That’s a shocker I know, considering it’s a far easier read.

About Zi (Bookish Gamer)

Gamer, Reader, Blogger, Youtuber. I love stories of every kind, but tend to stick towards Fantasy and YA as a whole when it comes to books.

Posted on February 3, 2015, in Top Ten Tuesday and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. I adore Sherlock Holmes. He’s not too likable, but he is clever, and Dr. Watson’s snarky comments are always fun.

    Don’t read all the dystopians at once, they’ll give you nightmares!

  2. Cool! Now you have a lot to look forward too when it comes to reading. 🙂 Can’t go wrong with either book!

  3. The Hobbit is an amazing book – I struggled with the Lord of the Rings trilogy, with all the long names and places that sound so familiar, but The Hobbit was just right for a fat fantasy read.

  4. Pride and Prejudice!! you should read it sooner rather than later!!

Leave a Reply

