Top Ten Favorite Authors

Top Ten Tuesday is hosted by The Broke and the Bookish, and features weekly top-ten lists! This week’s topic is Top Ten Favorite Authors. A torturous topic since there are so many great and amazing talented writers! Narrowing it down was hard. I had to pick between Neil Gaiman, Libba Bray and multiple others for that tenth one. Tough choice it was. So this is just a pretty good sampling of authors I love, but these are not all of them by any means. Also they’re not listed in any particular order as I love them all for various reasons.

JK Rowling – Surely this is no shock at all. I’m a long time Harry Potter fan and always will be. The world she created within London and Hogwarts, these books are pure comfort and will always mean so much to me.

Douglas Adams – I LOVE Hitchhiker’s Guide. Fun, hilarious, and wonderful British humor, it’s made me laugh more than any other. Granted I still have yet to read Terry Prachett, but Douglas Adams was an awesome comedic writer.

Scott Westerfeld – I adored the Leviathan series and cannot wait to read more of his books! Don’t really have much to say other than that.

Garth Nix – For the longest time, Shade’s Children was the book that turned me into a fan of his. Even after reading and DNFing Ragwitch (his first novel), I still knew I liked him. Then I finally read Sabriel and it sealed the deal. Even favorite authors can write books you’re not a fan of, but they’re still awesome anyway.

Courtney C. Stevens – Yes, she only has 1 book out so far, but that book was a message to the child inside me and helped me speak. Plus, I loved her writing style and I eagerly await her next book.

Tamora Pierce – Although I haven’t read any of her more recent work (though I’d like to), like many other girls she was my entry point into high fantasy. I’ve read both the Alanna series and The Immortals series, and I still think about and love that one scene in the 2nd Immortals book which I read over a decade ago. It was probably responsible for my love of wolves.

Margaret Atwood – Again, I’ve only read one book, The Handmaid’s Tale, but absolutely fell in love with her writing and I NEED MORE but there are so many books I need to read. *groans about so many books, so little time*

Suzanne Collins – I loved The Hunger Games and really want to read more books from her.

Edgar Allan Poe – This is my favorite classic writer. I love his stories, I love his poems, and I treasure my complete collection. I even saw his house in Philly!

Libba Bray – I love her equally as an author and a person. I used to read her LJ all the time. A Great and Terrible Beauty is a favorite and I also adored The Diviners. Wasn’t so enthralled with Going Bovine, but I still love her writing.

About Zi (Bookish Gamer)

Gamer, Reader, Blogger, Youtuber. I love stories of every kind, but tend to stick towards Fantasy and YA as a whole when it comes to books.

Posted on April 21, 2015, in Top Ten Tuesday and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

