Nintendo World Championships 2015 – The first in 25 years

Yesterday I watched this live, expecting loads of fun and I was not disappointed. It was far more exciting than any sports event I ever watched and the final round had me on the edge of my seat, reacting to every moment. It was a great show, and I’d love to see them do it regularly. Not yearly, but perhaps every 4 or so years. It was exciting and perhaps the best form of advertising Nintendo could have done.

We didn’t expect any premieres here, but Nintendo is always doing the unexpected. So they premiered an upcoming 3DS game (not sure if it’s New 3DS exclusive or just general 3DS) called Blast Ball. It has a Metroid style, but it’s a futuristic soccer game with mechs and an energy ball. You have to shoot the ball with your gun to get it into the opponent’s goal and try not to let it hit you or you’ll take a lot of damage. The game is 3 vs 3 and looks like a “blast” to play, but I’m not sure how much content is there. Of course, I had the same initial thought about Splatoon, so there should be a good single player campaign and plenty of unlockables to make it worth it. I’d definitely like to learn more about the game.

The final round revealed the new name for Mario Maker, which is now Super Mario Maker. The levels shown have definitely improved my original thoughts on the game and now I want it. Good job Nintendo. Also those levels were insane, but super fun to watch. I recommend watching the whole event, but if you don’t have time, skip ahead to see Blast Ball and then make sure you catch the Super Mario Maker levels. The full video is below:

About Zi (Bookish Gamer)

Gamer, Reader, Blogger, Youtuber. I love stories of every kind, but tend to stick towards Fantasy and YA as a whole when it comes to books.

Posted on June 15, 2015, in Gaming Discussion, Gaming News and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

